Collage

I was never really a fan of collage because many people who say they cannot do art say they can do collage. For some reason that seemed like a cop-out statement to me. But there are many wonderful collages out there by artists who understand composition and how to play with images.

I assigned my students to do a collage with the stipulation they must show values with it. So far none of them are getting it. But, I hope they will study my sample and figure it out. At least I made it in front of them so they have no excuse of my not showing them how to do it.

Most of this is newspaper. The lips are all meat and red fruit ads. Recognizable objects acting as hair are from magazines.

collage

 

One Response to “Collage”

  1. I feel mosaics and tiles. Just beautiful.

Leave a Reply

