New Dragon, The sequencing of a recycled metal sculpture…

This is the start of a sculpture I have been working on this summer. Monsoon has slowed down progress as well as his weight. I need help moving him in and out of the studio to weld.  I do not want to leave it outside till it is in the painting stage and ready for his final installation. It is a test of balance with what I add to him. I want to finish it as soon as possible and yet I want to take my time and get him just right. It is made of all recycled items. I am still thinking of color schemes. I am leaning towards metallic.

The top photo is just the start of the head. The next photos is more detailed. The second to last photo is just before I added small arms and hands and a walking stick for him to balance on. The last photo is not the greatest. Was hard to photograph with the light entering the window and I do not want to move him outside till I can work on him again. He will also have wings and an extension for the hip area and feet. As soon as I finish him I will post more. I just like showing the progress of a piece as it is being built.

9/15/13, the welding is finished. Pictures are at the bottom. Next will be the painting. I hope to have him finished in October. We will see how it goes time wise. I do have a fall break where I might just have enough time.

9/22/13 primed and ready to paint a color. He is now outside for good!

jaws 2 web

DSCN2183 copy

DSCN2203

IMG_0239

September 2, I had time to weld today. The result is below. All that is left are the feet. Plus I need to figure out a color for this guy. I am thinking purple or silver. I will have to paint a primer first so there is plenty of time. I hope to get him painted before October so I can display him at the end of the driveway.

dragon wen 5 dragon w wings web

welding done 2 welding done1

welding done 2

primed 1 primed 2

Only one more picture to post and that will be when this dragon is in his permanent place. Right below this comment is him in his finished paint job. He will blend in pretty well in this desert when he gets set up.

draco done 1

draco done 2Draco is finally home. Placed at the end of a driveway this morning, 11/11/13.

draco is home

 

Low light photo taken later on a rare cloudy day:

draco low light

Leave a Reply

