Dish Bug, Recycled Art

I had a break in welding time since the weather has been so windy and dry. Now that monsoon came I was able to get back to some welding projects.

Made of a 5 wood, chair legs, welding rod, lug nuts from our Jeep, a fence post, bolts, blades from a defunct pair of scissors, round grills from a smoker, and well, …what Dish TV left behind after we cancelled them, thus the name of this piece. (Guess it sounds better than Direct TV bug).

I just finished working on a tessellation project for my 3-6 grade students. I decided a tessellation would look great on this guy so I incorporated a simple one for texture. As usual the most fun other than welding that I had with this piece was mixing colors and painting them.

The final “Dish Bug”:

 

 

Leave a Reply

