Copper Animals

I have these metal bats an artist up north had made that I purchased close to fifteen years ago. He still makes these pieces but in more of a production way.  His computer has the pattern recorded and it cuts his steel for him so all he has to do is assemble the piece. (I have a few of his earlier pieces before he started the computer production of them and I really like them).

A neighbor of mine wanted me to duplicate his bats so she could purchase it from me. Now I do not mind borrowing ideas and making the work my own in style. I just do not feel right duplicating another persons creations. Plus I used to make bats out of tin ware and marbles that were my own design. Now that I work in copper I decided to take the challenge and make a bat.

I did a little bit of research because I wanted to make a bat that is local to my area. I found a species that is called the southern long nosed bat. It lives in southern Arizona and northern Mexico. I think their faces are rather cute.

The top photo was the first one I made. After getting together with my neighbor and discussing what she wanted the following bats that are torch cut versus snip cut were what she ended up with. The middle photo is a grouping to get an idea of sizes. The last photo is of a fifth bat that was built later when my neighbor decided she needed one more bat. It is a small one with open wings.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

